Archeological findings have shown that an early medieval cemetery was located on the grounds of the farmhouse.
5.-7. century A.D.: The farmhouse, the cemetery and no syphilis
Various small human bone fragments were discovered which have been attributed to a minimum of four individuals. In addition, an almost complete human skeleton was discovered by the archeologists. Due to these discoveries, this burial site is now regarded as the oldest confirmed cemetery in Fiss. Further research in 2006 resulted in the surprising find of a facial bone fragment with the tell-tale markings of syphilis. The fragments are riddled with holes similar to those confirmed as syphilis cases. This unusual finding does not correlate with the official historical belief that this decease first occurred after Columbus returned from North America. This sensational historical discovery, if confirmed, could change a part of history. The findings are being researched, but so far they
have not generated any conclusive results.
1411: Construction of central part of the farmhouse
The oldest components of the farmhouse are located in the cellar of the house and in the arched corridor. Due to the oldest parts of the house being located at the base of the building, it is presumed that the original building had massive stone foundation and ground floor, and was completed with wood boards from the ground floor upward. This style of building with all it's unique details is classified as a farmhouse with Rhaetian cellar layout. Historians believe that this type of building was only built in the early 14th century in the central alps. The wood-beams in the cellar were dated back to 1411 and the gothic doorframes suggest this farmhouse is one of the latest houses built in this unique style.
1450: Gothic building phase
The farmhouse was rebuilt in the popular gothic style, but the foundation and layout stayed unchanged. There was an additional bricked level built above the cellar and dramatically changed the appearance of the house.
It is possible that several additional wooden extensions were built in this period, as the remnants located at the south-facing wall of the house suggest.
Based on the dendrochronological analysis of the wood-beams and the shape of the windows and doorframes this building phase is presumably dated to the middle of the 15th century. The characteristical features of this time period are the windows with broad tuffaceous rock details, beveled edges, and plastered frames.
Around 1590: Structural expansion
Towards the end of the 16th century, the existing stone farm building is extended; presumably the farm buildings are added on the west side.
The building now appears to have the typical farm characteristics of the Tyrolean Oberland region. The construction and design features of this era are clearly visible on the eastern façade: the wide arched doorway, the two-coloured stone quoins on the corners of the house or the frieze along the former gable line are typical features of the late 16th century.
Around 1675: Main residence and barn
In the final major construction phase in 1675, the house assumes its current shape and size: it is extended on the west side in order to build another floor and add the spacious annex buildings. All these structural alterations were carried out using existing materials. Thus, for instance, timber from the former barn was reused or an entire chamber was even built in another location. From this time onwards, there is also structural evidence to support the supposition that the building was used by more than one family. This form of division of the estate is preserved from this time until the 20th century.